Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Top Ten Books on My Winter 2018 TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and The Artsy Reader Girl. I've already read a few of my top picks, so those won't be on here.

1. Only a Breath Apart by Katie McGarry - January 22, 2019

2. King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo - January 29, 2019

3. A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer - January 29, 2019

4. Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian - February 5, 2019

5. The Cerulean by Amy Ewing - February 5, 2019

6. Soul in Darkness by Wendy Higgins - February 12, 2019

7. Bloodwitch by Susan Dennard - February 12, 2019

8. Last of Her Name by Jessica Khoury - February 26, 2019

9. From the Grave by Kresley Cole - March 2019

10. Once and Future by Amy Rose Capetta and Cori McCarthy - March 5, 2019

Stay tuned! The page with all my favorite and most anticipated 2019 books will be going up soon!

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday (145)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I am eagerly awaiting Bloodwitch by Susan Dennard! I have devoured the Witchlands series thus far, and I can't wait for my next fix! While it seems this book will focus more on Aeduan, I'm hoping for some check-ins with my favorite Truthwitch, Safi. With the series only partway through, I can tell that it's going to be huge. The world is big, and I can't wait for all the adventures we'll have and the characters we'll meet. Also, look at that cover! Really shows off that this is Aeduan's (or should I say Baeduan's) time to shine!


Fans of Susan Dennard's New York Times bestselling Witchlands series have fallen in love with the Bloodwitch Aeduan. And now, finally, comes his story.

High in a snowy mountain range, a monastery that holds more than just faith clings to the side of a cliff. Below, thwarted by a lake, a bloodthirsty horde of raiders await the coming of winter and the frozen path to destroy the sanctuary and its secrets.

The Bloodwitch Aeduan has teamed up with the Threadwitch Iseult and the magical girl Owl to stop the destruction. But to do so, he must confront his own father, and his past.

Release: February 12, 2019 

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday (144)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I am super excited for Soul in Darkness by Wendy Higgins! Just a quick note before I go any further, while she is a YA author, this novel is more on the NA side of things, so better for older readers. As anyone who knows me knows, I am a sucker for mythology. Especially Greek mythology. Soul in Darkness is a retelling of the love story of Cupid and Psyche. Wendy Higgins writes great romance in her YA novels, so I bet this will be amazing as well! It's a standalone novel, but I bet I will want more by the time I finish!


People travel from afar to the small isle in the Aegean Sea hoping for a single glimpse of Princess Psyche. Their adoration for the mortal woman is so all-consuming that citizens begin to shower her with the very gifts and offerings they once left at the alter of Venus, goddess of love and beauty.

But gods are known for their jealousy.

Cupid, the god of love, takes pleasure in causing strife and mischief in the lives of humans. He uses love as a weapon, humoring in the weakness of people at the whims of their feelings. When his mother Venus approaches him about punishing the human girl who dares to steal her offerings and affections from the people, Cupid gladly accepts.

Psyche's punishment is to be given to a mysterious creature who only comes to her in the dark of night under the pact that she will never lay eyes on him. She is terrified of this stranger, who the oracle described as a serpent. Her mate, however, is masterful in his dealings with his bride. He takes his time, morphing her fears into different sensations completely.

Based on the Roman/Greek mythology of Cupid and Psyche by Lucius Apuleius, New York Times bestseller Wendy Higgins brings the tale to life, weaving layers that show exactly how a sacrificial lamb can be enchanted by an unseen monster.

Release: February 12, 2019

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Top Ten Books With Wintery Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and The Artsy Reader Girl.

1. A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas

2. Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole

3. Greta and the Goblin King by Chloe Jacobs

4. Kiss of Frost by Jennifer Estep

5. Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken

6. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

7. American Panda by Gloria Chao

8. Of Ice and Shadows by Audrey Coulthurst

9. Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

10. Winter Glass by Lexa Hillyer

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday (143)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I'm super excited for Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian! I read Ash Princess earlier this year as an ARC and I absolutely loved it! It ended with a major cliffhanger, and I really want to know what happens next. I ship Theo and Søren, and I really hope they are able to grow closer together in this book. I also hope that Theo gets to utterly destroy the Kaiser. He is an awful man that killed her mother and made her kill her own father and I will not stand for him to continue being in existence. I have mega grabby hands for this book, and I will likely stroke the cover repeatedly when I get it.


The Kaiser murdered Theodosia's mother, the Fire Queen, when Theo was only six. He took Theo's country and kept her prisoner, crowning her Ash Princess--a pet to toy with and humiliate for ten long years. That era has ended. The Kaiser thought his prisoner weak and defenseless. He didn't realize that a sharp mind is the deadliest weapon.

Theo no longer wears a crown of ashes. She has taken back her rightful title, and a hostage--Prinz Soren. But her people remain enslaved under the Kaiser's rule, and now she is thousands of miles away from them and her throne.

To get them back, she will need an army. Only, securing an army means she must trust her aunt, the dreaded pirate Dragonsbane. And according to Dragonsbane, an army can only be produced if Theo takes a husband. Something an Astrean Queen has never done.

Theo knows that freedom comes at a price, but she is determined to find a way to save her country without losing herself.

Release: February 5, 2019
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...