Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Ten Books, Series, and Authors That I Stopped Reading

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish! I'm gonna focus on fairy tale retellings to be exact.

1. James Patterson - I loved his books when I was younger, but they got so bad that I couldn't read them anymore.

2. Down from the Mountain by Elizabeth Fixmer - I just can't.

3. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman - I was bored, confused, or both.

4. Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor - I want to finish this someday, but I got really bored in the middle

5. Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry - I despised The Giver, on only read it and started Gathering Blue was for class.

6. 34 Pieces of You by Carmen Rodriguez - No thank you. I was not emotionally ready to read this book.

7. Gone by Michael Grant - I do not do any sort of horror/freaky novels, and this definitely falls under that category.

8. Uncomfortable positions - I can't really quit that, as any position I read in seems to get uncomfortable, but a girl can dream.

9. Temptation by Karen Ann Hopkins - I'm pretty sure the books got better, but I was getting so mad at the beginning of the book that I had to stop.

10. Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl - Someday I will finish these books. Today is not that day.

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (54)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spines, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I'm super excited for The Iron Warrior by Julie Kagawa! I've been dying for this book for two years now. I can't wait to see more of my favorite characters, Meagan, Ash, and Grimalkin! Sure, the new characters are nice, but everyone knows who the real heroes are. Now gimme the book! *grabby hands*


The Iron Prince—my nephew—betrayed us all. 

He killed me. 

Then, I woke up. 

Waking after a month on the brink of death, Ethan Chase is stunned to learn that the Veil that conceals the fey from human sight was temporarily torn away. Although humankind's glimpse of the world of Faery lasted just a brief moment, the human world has been cast into chaos, and the emotion and glamour produced by fear and wonder has renewed the tremendous power of the Forgotten Queen. Now, she is at the forefront of an uprising against the courts of Summer and Winter—a reckoning that will have cataclysmic effects on the Nevernever. 

Leading the Lady's Forgotten Army is Keirran himself: Ethan's nephew, and the traitor son of the Iron Queen, Meghan Chase.To stop Keirran, Ethan must disobey his sister once again as he and his girlfriend, Kenzie, search for answers long forgotten. In the face of unprecedented evil and unfathomable power, Ethan's enemies must become his allies, and the world of the fey will be changed forevermore.

Release: October 27, 2015

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Top Ten Books to Read if You Like Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish! I'm gonna focus on fairy tale retellings to be exact.

1. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

2. Ella Enchanted by Gail Caron Levine

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

4. Wicked by Gregory McGuire

5. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

6. A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

7. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

8. Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis

9. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Monday, September 28, 2015

Teen Reads Board

Some of you may know that I was accepted to the Teen Reads teen board in August. I, along with a bunch of other teens, will review books each month as well as participate in other activities. If you want to see that stuff, subscribe to the Teen Reads newsletter!

Because I'm reviewing some books on that site, I can't post the reviews here (only one less a month), but I can link to them! Check out the post here to read my review of Jillian Cade (Fake) Paranormal Investigator by Jen Klein!

Each month when a review goes up, I'll share the link on the blog!

Thursday, September 24, 2015

A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Title: A Madness So Discreet
Author: Mindy McGinnis
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release: October 6, 2015
Pages: 384
Review: 5 Stars


Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylum and The Diviners as well as television's True Detective and American Horror Story.

Grace Mae is already familiar with madness when family secrets and the bulge in her belly send her to an insane asylum—but it is in the darkness that she finds a new lease on life. When a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace's brilliant mind beneath her rage, he recruits her as his assistant. Continuing to operate under the cloak of madness at crime scenes allows her to gather clues from bystanders who believe her less than human. Now comfortable in an ethical asylum, Grace finds friends—and hope. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who will bring her shaky sanity and the demons in her past dangerously close to the surface.

You Can Find it At:

First Impressions

While I haven't read Mindy's other books, I've heard wonderful things about them, which already had me excited for this one. The cover, description, or author could have pulled me in, but this book had the perfect combo of all of them. As soon as I heard about the book, I wanted to read it. A Madness So Discreet was a creepy, touching story that I couldn't put down. Also, I was reading this on a class trip that was driving me insane, so this was a nice break from that.


Grace is immediately interesting to me. I have a slight obsession with insane asylums, and Grace happens to be in one. Grace starts out the story pregnant, which is the reason she's in the asylum, as well as that she refuses to speak. This is a really cool story-telling device, especially considering how smart Grace is. She thinks very intelligently, while refusing to speak or acknowledge it. The more we learn about Grace's family and past, the more I felt sick inside. I honestly don't blame her for going a little 'crazy'. I don't think I'd be as put together as she was if I was in the same situation. There's also the doctor that helps Grace. I very much like this guy, and think he's very helpful to Grace's recovery. A side note: people who don't like romance as much, this book is for you. There isn't any romance.


The writing was haunting. It's been a while since I read the book, so I can't really say much more, but it was definitely well done, especially for an ARC.


The environment of every asylum is different, as shown in this novel. Some were harrowing, awful places, while others were truly dedicated to the health of their inmates. The first asylum in the novel really paints the picture of a place that no one wants to be in. It's basically a prison. The second asylum is more like a nice resort where you're also monitored 24/7. There, the people are caring, and you can actually make friends with the other patients. It was also really cool to see how the park the patients walked in also had people from the surrounding town. The patients were able to interact and heal in a productive way, which was very odd for the time. The world building was really well done though. I could really see the world through Grace's eyes.

Author Bio:

Mindy McGinnis is an assistant YA librarian who lives in Ohio and cans her own food. She graduated from Otterbein University magna cum laude with a BA in English Literature and Religion. Mindy has a pond in her back yard but has never shot anyone, as her morals tend to cloud her vision.

You Can Find Her At:
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...