Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Book Bingo Wrap-Up: New Year's Edition

Hello everyone, and welcome to another edition of Book Bingo, hosted by the amazing Great Imaginations! Here was the original card:


Welcome to Book Bingo Round Up: New Years Edition! Here are all the books I read!

Start A Series

Switched by Amanda Hocking. I also happened to finish this series, and it was AMAZING!

2015 Debut

None of The Above by I.W. Gregorio. This was originally in my LGBTQIA section, but I moved things around a bit.

Magical Realism

First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen. The long-awaited sequel to Garden Spells! It was not a disappointment!

Fairy Tale Retelling

This one goes to Fairest by Marissa Meyer! Not as good as the other books, but still good!

"Pretty Dress" Cover

The Winner's Crime by Marie Rutkoski. I actually got this a couple days early and DEVOURED it! So good!

White Cover

Frostfire by Amanda Hocking. Notice a pattern? I decided to dive in to a bunch of her books these past few months, and boy are they good!

LGBTQIA

Alex As Well by Alyssa Brugman. This book was amazing! I felt that the character was a little young for a couple of the events that occurred, but I read it in an hour and a half!

Blue Cover

Torn by Amanda Hocking. One of the books in the Trylle series!

Mystery or Thriller

Deadfall by Anna Carey. I've gotten both books in this series as ARCs, and they are so good! I love the second person writing, and while this didn't feel as strong as the first, I really did enjoy it.

Over 400 Pages

That goes to the Trylle trilogy bind-up. I know I'm breaking some rules, but *sticks tongue out*.

PoC MC (Person of Color Main Character)

Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. I did not want to read this book. I hated it. Take it away.

Mental Illness

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. This book killed me. After I finished, I am not kidding you, I went and cried for at least half and hour.

Romance

The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead. I hadn't really been enjoying this series, but the twists and turns in this novel finished it off with a bang!

2014 Release You Missed

Landry Park by Bethany Hagan. This was so good! I bought it on a whim in January, and it did not disappoint. That said, TALK CHARACTERS, TALK!

Based on Mythology

The Return by Jennifer L. Armentrout. This was the first New Adult book I've read. Also the only.

Gold Lettering

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios. The title is gold!

Fairies of Fae

All That Burns by Ryan Graudin. I love these books so much and wish I had more of them!

Male POV

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway. I've tried to get into some of her other books and haven't been able to, but Emmy & Oliver sucked me right in! Until the Beginning by Amy Plum is another book that works.

Super Powers

Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole. I just want to snuggle these books. I want more NOW!

Pink Cover

The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West. This was a combination of infuriating and adorable!

Free

Crash by Eve Silver. This series ends fairly well. I was satisfied with the ending.

Top Ten Books You Recently Added to Your To-Be-Read List


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

*consults Goodreads*

1. The Law of Loving Others by Kate Axelrod

2. The Eternal City by Paula Morris

3. Young Widows Club by Alexandra Coutts

4. Happy Again by Jennifer E. Smith

5. Untamed by A.G. Howard

6. The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe

7. City of Fae by Pippa DaCosta

8. Beautiful Little Fool by K.K. Hendin

9. The Temple of Doubt by Anne Boles Levy

10. Nexis by A.L. Davroe

Monday, March 23, 2015

Monarch Madness Blog Hop


I'm excited to be taking part in MEReadALot's Monarch Madness Blog Hop! I'm featuring Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard! I read the book in December, and let me say, it is AMAZING! In fact, you can go here to see my review!

But anyway, Red Queen rocks. It's so awesome, that I'm giving away a signed copy today! But first, if you haven't heard of read Red Queen, here's a little info.

Synopsis:


Debut novelist Victoria Aveyard's sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king's palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood--those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.


To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard--a growing Red rebellion--even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

And don't worry, if you don't win, you can find Red Queen at all of these awesome sites!

You Can Find it At:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository
Goodreads

Lastly, a little info on Victoria. You obviously can't get a book without making sure that the author's not a serial killer (btw, Victoria's not, I've met her. I know this)

Author Bio:

Born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for its traffic rotary, Victoria grew up painfully normal. The daughter of schoolteachers, she spent most of her time reading books and watching movies, looking for distractions and stories that could take her away. When she was accepted to the University of Southern California, Victoria took her chance and moved cross country. After graduating with a BFA in Writing for Screen & Television, she decided to try her hand at writing a novel. RED QUEEN came out of the terrifying, unemployed year after college.


Currently, Victoria is hard at work editing the second book in the series while pursuing other projects in publishing and screenwriting. She splits her time between Massachusetts, Los Angeles, Target, and Barnes & Noble.

You Can Find Her At:
Website
Twitter
Facebook

And finally, what you've all been waiting for, the giveaway! I'm giving away ONE SIGNED ARC of Red Queen to a US resident! Plus there will be swag! Enter now!

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, March 20, 2015

Mystery Twitter Theater


You're not going to believe this. I just found out I'm a suspect in a crime! YA blogger Ensconced in Lit was murdered yesterday and her body has been found on Twitter. Yep, you read that right--Twitter. Apparently the killer made off with a super-epic LIARS, INC. prize pack and now everyone thinks maybe it was me. Well guess what, it wasn't me because . . . I was busy reading, as I always am! Do you think I would put down my newest book to murder someone? Me neither!

Will you help prove my innocence? Head over to Paula Stokes's blog for all the information about the crime. If you can figure out who the real killer is and how they did the deed, Paula is going to award YOU the super-epic LIARS, INC. prize pack, which includes a hand-painted tote, a signed book, a deluxe swag pack, and additional mystery prizes. Come to think of it, I might just have to do a little investigating myself. After all, that prize pack is kind of to die for. 

Or should I say to kill for...


#MysteryTwitterTheater was created to celebrate the release of LIARS, INC. a twisty YA mystery/thriller!
Synopsis:

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV's How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called "Captivating to the very end," Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Top Ten Books on My Spring To-Be-Read List


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

1. Gods of Chaos by Jen McConnel

2. The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige

3. The Death Code by Lindsay Cummings

4. The Heir by Kiera Cass

5. Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly

6. Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

7. Ice Kissed by Amanda Hocking

8. Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep

9. Spelled by Betsy Schow

10. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...